A Quick Rant: ALS Ice Bucket Challenge

If you’ve been living under a rock without wifi for the past week, let me give you a quick run down. If you are nominated, you have 24 hours to video yourself dumping ice water over your head or you may donate $100 dollars towards ALS research.

The naysayers wonder what this accomplishes, and I was a bit skeptical myself. You name a celebrity and they’ve probably done the challenge, every one from RDJ to Taylor Swift to Ashton Kutcher, has completed the challenge and issued it again. But what help is this? I’ve seen it called a “waste” of water.

But I decided to educate myself…

Say what you will, my darlings, about the Ice Bucket Challenge that has virally been issued across the internet but it has accomplished its goal.

It has raised funding and awareness for those stricken by the terrible disease known as ALS or Lou Gehrig’s. It has raised awareness. It has brought a little known disease, with no known cause or cure, into the spotlight for awhile.

In the process of watching these hilarious (did you see that girl who the whole bucket fell on?!) videos of countless people experiencing the shock of ice water, I’ve learned about ALS. I’ve read blogs, heard radio reports, and felt my heart go out to the people of this world who struggle daily with ALS. The more you read the more that ALS sounds like being locked up in jail, confined to your own body. I highly suggest catching up with this blog if you want some more information.

Sure, one person dumping a bucket of water on their head doesn’t make much of a difference. But a nation of people dumping buckets of ice water on their heads is a revolution of it’s own, is it not? It is it’s own little wake up call. Should you receive the challenge, and be so inclined, I hope you’ll both don your swim suit and open your wallet for those suffering from ALS.

I won’t pretend to know what these brave men and women are feeling. I won’t spout heart wrenching facts in your ear in hopes that we can understand. I won’t be donating my most recent thousand dollars (I don’t even have a thousand dollars).

But I will be excited for the publicity, love, and support the ALS community has seen in countless buckets of icy water in thousands of yards and bathtubs across America. I will smile thinking of the people informing themselves. I will be dumping ice water over my head and making a donation. I will pray for a cure.

Should you feel led to donate, I toast an icy bucket of water your way. Please visit to officially make a contribution ALSA.org/donate Be on the look out for spam sites, as there are always a few who will take advantage of one’s generosity.

Love always,
MissO

Leave a comment